Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
The Murder Game
Cover of The Murder Game
The Murder Game
Borrow Borrow Borrow
Boarding school has never been more dangerous.What if your roommate is a murderer? Or what if he's being framed and only you can save him?Luke Chase made history as a child when he escaped a...
Boarding school has never been more dangerous.What if your roommate is a murderer? Or what if he's being framed and only you can save him?Luke Chase made history as a child when he escaped a...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    2
  • Library copies:
    2

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • Boarding school has never been more dangerous.

    What if your roommate is a murderer? Or what if he's being framed and only you can save him?

    Luke Chase made history as a child when he escaped a kidnapping. Now, all he wants is to be a normal teenager. So when he sneaks out to the woods one night to drink with friends and flirt with the new British girl at school, he's excited to feel some freedom.

    Except the next morning, one of their teachers is found murdered—in the exact same spot where they had been partying. Soon, Luke's roommate and best friend Oscar is the #1 suspect.

    As the evidence and list of suspects builds, Luke attempts to use his famous survival skills to find the killer and clear Oscar's name. But as Luke gets closer to the truth, the killer is getting closer to Luke.

    The Murder Game is perfect for fans of:
  • They Wish They Were Us and One of Us Is Lying
  • Murder mystery books for teens
  • Teen thrillers
  • Young adult suspense

Reviews-

  • Booklist

    February 15, 2021
    Grades 9-12 On paper, Luke is your typical college-app striver--athlete, scholar, and activist. He's not like his roommate and best friend, Oscar, whose nose for trouble is as dangerous as his penchant for kissing girls. But they must lean on brains and luck when they unwittingly stumble into a murder scene at their boarding school. Together, they investigate the secret lives of students and teachers alike to track down the killer. Unfortunately, they're not exactly the most subtle, and their inquiries have attracted the attention of more than one person who'd like their past to stay hidden. Doyle strikes a good balance between a twisty whodunit and a lighter adventure story. The tone she sets never gets too grim, despite the story involving illicit affairs, secret identities, and hidden pasts. Complicating the tale is Luke's own traumatic experience as a kidnapping survivor, which creates a through line of the teen sleuth accepting and embracing his own inner strength. This is a solid, well-paced read for any lover of YA mystery.

    COPYRIGHT(2021) Booklist, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Kirkus

    February 15, 2021
    A murder in a boarding school leads a teen sleuth down a dangerous path. When Luke and his roommate, Oscar, snuck out of their dorm room after hours to hook up with two girls in the woods, they did not expect to get involved in a murder. Dean Heckler's young wife's body is found the morning after, near the place the teens were hanging out. Fear of being expelled prevents them from confessing their presence around the time of the murder--but when Oscar becomes a suspect, Luke starts his own investigation to prove his best friend's innocence. Fortunately, three years earlier Luke had escaped a kidnapping using survival skills learned from his former-POW grandfather, the same skills he now needs if he wants to find the true murderer and get out of this situation alive. This whodunit has enough twists and red herrings to make for an intriguing mystery if readers are prepared to suspend disbelief at how frequently adult characters act with implausible negligence. The book is also weighed down by a haze of misogyny when describing both girls at the school as well as the murdered woman, who remains a vapid, one-note seductress throughout. Luke's vague and perfunctory attempts at challenging his male friends in their sexist views are not enough to clear the chauvinist miasma. Main characters are White. A suspenseful mystery diminished by outdated gender stereotypes. (Mystery. 14-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2021) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    March 1, 2021

    Gr 9 Up-Luke Chase and his best friend Oscar just wanted a night of teenage rebellion at their quiet, private boarding school. The plan was simple: sneak out of their dorm, meet their friends Kelsey and Pippa, and have a fun evening. When they hear adults near their hangout spot, the four teens think they're caught. Instead, they hear a murder. The victim, Mrs. Heckler, is the flirtatious wife of one of the deans, and when rumors fly that she was having an affair with a student, Oscar becomes the prime suspect. Luke knows Oscar is innocent, so he starts his own investigation to clear his friend's name. Doyle uses her past work writing cozy mysteries to create an intriguing whodunit with enough red herrings and plot twists to keep readers guessing until the big reveal. The teen characters are richly developed and complex, with interesting and suspicious motives. However, the adult characters are more stereotypical and some readers may find the interactions between the teens and adults implausible. In particular, the teachers are too informal and open with their students. While the resolution is tidy, the pacing is a bit rushed near the climax, and readers may be left wanting more. Readers who enjoyed Karen M. McManus's One of Us Is Lying, Dana Mele's People Like Us, and Chelsea Pitcher's This Lie Will Kill You will find this a satisfying read. Most main characters' races aren't stated, and there is some diversity in the supporting cast. VERDICT A character-driven murder mystery that will leave readers guessing until the big reveal.-Kaetlyn Phillips, Yorkton, Sask.

    Copyright 2021 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Sourcebooks
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
The Murder Game
The Murder Game
Carrie Doyle
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
The Murder Game
The Murder Game
Carrie Doyle
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Township High School District 214, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close