Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Light of Day
Cover of Light of Day
Light of Day
Borrow Borrow Borrow
From the author of On the Edge and Snitch comes a dangerous, sexy novel perfect for fans of Simone Elkeles.When Gabby Perez is almost drugged at a nightclub, she decides to take action. Teaming up with...
From the author of On the Edge and Snitch comes a dangerous, sexy novel perfect for fans of Simone Elkeles.When Gabby Perez is almost drugged at a nightclub, she decides to take action. Teaming up with...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • From the author of On the Edge and Snitch comes a dangerous, sexy novel perfect for fans of Simone Elkeles.

    When Gabby Perez is almost drugged at a nightclub, she decides to take action. Teaming up with a mysterious stranger known as X, the two go after a gang who is drugging and kidnapping innocent girls off the Miami streets and forcing them into prostitution. As their search deepens, Gabby and X can't ignore their undeniable attraction to each other. Then Gabby discovers the truth about who X really is and the danger that surrounds him. Can their love survive the light of day?

    Light of Day is set in the same world as On the Edge (readers will recognize some of their favorite characters in this book) and features a diverse cast. With romance, action, and realistic friendships, this is a gripping story about finding out where you belong, discovering the power to make a difference, and finding true love along the way.

About the Author-

  • Allison van Diepen is the author of Street Pharm, Snitch, Takedown, On the Edge, and other novels for teens. Her books have been named ALA Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers and NYPL Books for the Teen Age. She lives with her family in Ottawa, Canada, where she also teaches high school.

Reviews-

  • Kirkus

    September 1, 2015
    An outspoken young radio host teams up with a brave-but-secretive stranger to solve a missing-girl mystery. Senior Gabby Perez is no naive wallflower, but when a seedy club-goer sneaks roofies in her best friend's drink, it takes a hot, blue-eyed, square-jawed stranger to warn her to get away. A young Miami radio personality, Gabby uses her weekly show, Light Up the Night, to discuss what (almost) happened and thank the handsome stranger who came to the rescue. The following week, the mystery guy, who goes by "X," waits for her at the radio station and cautions her that she's getting involved in a dangerous sex-trafficking situation. Gabby suspects X is an undercover cop, and the two attempt to get the scumbag off the streets. As Gabby and X's chemistry becomes undeniable, she must deal with uncomfortable truths about his past and a kidnapping case involving a friend. Meanwhile, at home, Gabby struggles with rigid parents who seem to care more about why she broke up with her perfect ex than her talent as a DJ. Van Diepen returns to her On the Edge (2014) world-the tough streets of Miami-for another exciting story that delivers with a central relationship full of twists and surprising depth. Readers who like their romance on the gritty side will fall for van Diepen's steamy thriller. (Thriller. 14-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2015) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Booklist

    November 1, 2015
    Grades 10-1 First impressions rarely tell the whole story. Gabby Perez is a radio DJ by night, and by day, she attempts to be the student and daughter her parents want her to be. When her friend is drugged at a nightclub, she is shaken but not nearly as unnerved as she is by the guy who gives her a warningthe mysterious X. As they work together to bring down the pimp who might be behind these attacks, she finds herself falling hard, even though he's the kind of guy she's always been warned to stay away from. The drama within this novel is uneven. The climactic scene is as high energy as any action movie, but within the rest of the story, the heart-pumping momentum is sometimes more jarring than exciting. The tangle of love and danger is reminiscent of Simone Elkeles' Perfect Chemistry (2009). While this offers an interesting peek into a dangerous world of gangs and drugs, the suggestion of danger is often buried in more mundane plotlines.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2015, American Library Association.)

  • Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

    "Taut with suspense, violence, and sexual tension." — Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

    "Messages about having confidence in who you are, listening to your heart and your gut, establishing both intimacy and identity are excellent and far from didactic in the fast-paced narrative." — Resource Links Magazine

    "The tangle of love and danger is reminiscent of Simone Elkeles' PERFECT CHEMISTRY" — Booklist

    "LIGHT OF DAY is a fast moving read, with lots of action related in the sassy, snappy voice of the main character." — CM Magazine

    "Readers who like their romance on the gritty side will fall for van Diepen's steamy thriller." — Kirkus Reviews

    Praise for ON THE EDGE: "Heart-pounding, romantic and suspenseful. I loved it!" — NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Simone Elkeles

    Praise for ON THE EDGE: "The well–drawn characters and setting make the novel stand out. The romance is equal parts sweet and hot and leads to a satisfying conclusion. Ideal for readers who prefer a high romance–to–thrills ratio." — Kirkus Reviews

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Light of Day
Light of Day
Allison van Diepen
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Light of Day
Light of Day
Allison van Diepen
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Township High School District 214, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close