Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
The Hunting Party
Cover of The Hunting Party
The Hunting Party
A Novel
Borrow Borrow Borrow
THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER"My favorite kind of whodunit, kept me guessing all the way through, and reminiscent of Agatha Christie at her best — with an extra dose of acid." — Alex...
THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER"My favorite kind of whodunit, kept me guessing all the way through, and reminiscent of Agatha Christie at her best — with an extra dose of acid." — Alex...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

    "My favorite kind of whodunit, kept me guessing all the way through, and reminiscent of Agatha Christie at her best — with an extra dose of acid." — Alex Michaelides, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Silent Patient

    Everyone's invited...everyone's a suspect...

    During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they've chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

    The trip begins innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group's tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year's Eve, the cord holding them together snaps, just as a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

    Two days later, on New Year's Day, one of them is dead. . . and another of them did it.

    Keep your friends close, the old adage says. But how close is too close?

    DON'T BE LEFT OUT. JOIN THE PARTY NOW.

About the Author-

  • Lucy Foley studied English liter­ature at Durham University and University College London and worked for several years as a fiction edi­tor in the publishing industry. She is the author of five novels including The Guest List and The Hunt­ing Party. She lives in London.

Reviews-

  • Library Journal

    September 1, 2018

    In her first crime novel, Foley (The Invitation) takes a group of thirtyish Oxford graduates who celebrate New Year's Eve together to a dreamily remote estate in the Scottish Highlands. They're snowed in by a blizzard of historic proportions, and by New Year's one of them lies dead. With a 100,000-copy first printing.

    Copyright 2018 Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus

    November 15, 2018
    Ever since college, these nine friends have remained close. This year, only eight of them will go home from their New Years' party.While Miranda and Katie are childhood friends and bonded with Julien, Mark, Samira, Giles, Nick, and Bo while they were at Oxford or soon after, Emma didn't become part of the group until she married Mark just a few years ago. For that reason, she has gone all out to plan this year's New Year's gathering at a remote Scottish hunting lodge. "Very exclusive," she reports. "They only let four parties stay there each year." She's had the place stocked with truffles, foie gras, and other delicacies, and Miranda and Julien have brought a case of Dom Pérignon. As we turn the first page of Foley's (The Invitation, 2016, etc.) debut thriller after several historical novels, it is Jan. 2, 2019. Heather, the manager of Loch Corrin, receives a breathless visit from Doug, the rough-hewn and scary/sexy gamekeeper. He has found the body of the missing guest. We won't know which guest that is, of course, for quite some time. The tense tale of this ill-fated reunion is told in flashbacks from several different characters' perspectives, each with a different angle and a different dark secret in his or her past, as is classic in this form of the whodunit. It seems likely that the killer comes from the ranks of the guests--there's a good bit of interpersonal tension, much of it generated by the extreme gorgeousness of Miranda, the queen bee of the crowd. Her relationship with her husband, Julien, is surely not the bed of roses the others believe, and her so-called best friend, Katie, seems to hate her guts. On the other hand, there's mention of a serial killer on the loose in the Highlands, so who's that sneaking around in the woods?Plot, reasonably clever. Setting, nicely done. Characters, two-dimensional stereotypes, but you can't have everything.

    COPYRIGHT(2018) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Booklist

    December 15, 2018
    A group of London friends arrive at exclusive Loch Corrin in the Scottish Highlands for a New Year's get-together and find the location a bit too remote?it's a mile to the main road, Wi-Fi is unreliable, and, when they get snowed in, things turn frightening. A prologue reveals that a guest has been found dead, and the ensuing chapters switch back and forth between the days leading up to the death and those just after, all the while uncovering the friends' past misdeeds and entanglements. Anyone who's grown apart from old friends will recognize the yearning depicted here to make everything as it was; Foley (The Book of Lost and Found, 2015) tempers the sentimentality with the guests' efforts to best one another and the social clash between them and the workers at the lodge. Readers are left wondering until the end which guest has died as well as who the killer is; they will be well rewarded by the story's ending. A great read-alike for this is Shari Lapena's recent An Unwanted Guest (2018).(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2018, American Library Association.)

  • The Times (London) "Lucy Foley proves that the traditional country-house murder formula...can still work brilliantly.... Superb."
  • Alex Michaelides, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Silent Patient "My favorite kind of whodunit, kept me guessing all the way through, and reminiscent of Agatha Christie at her best — with an extra dose of acid."
  • A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window "A ripping, riveting murder mystery—wily as Agatha Christie, charged with real menace, real depth. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware."
  • National Geographic "Like a deliciously drawn out game of Clue, this novel brings together a group of Oxford friends at a remote Scottish highlands estate for the Christmas holidays....Foley paints such a vivid hunting-lodge-and-lochs setting that you'll immediately be booking your own highland fling, clandestine killers or no."
  • Wendy Walker, author of the national bestseller All Is Not Forgotten "Everyone is a suspect in Lucy Foley's clever murder mystery that harkens back to Agatha Christie and the Orient Express. Friends, lovers, strangers and murder at a secluded hunting lodge make for an absolutely delicious read!"
  • Alice Feeney, New York Times bestselling author of Sometimes I Lie "An addictive murder mystery full of suspense, secrets and surprises. I loved it!"
  • Fredericksburg Free Lance-Star "Psychological suspense that rivets. Imaginatively conceived and deftly executed."
  • Publishers Weekly "An auspicious thriller debut...a cracklingly suspenseful story for a long winter's night."

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
The Hunting Party
The Hunting Party
A Novel
Lucy Foley
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
The Hunting Party
The Hunting Party
A Novel
Lucy Foley
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Township High School District 214, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close