Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Vanish
Cover of Vanish
Vanish
Firelight Series, Book 2
Borrow Borrow Borrow
The second book in the addictive, romantic Firelight trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan is perfect for fans of Laini Taylor, Tahereh Mafi, and Claudia Gray.After revealing...
The second book in the addictive, romantic Firelight trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan is perfect for fans of Laini Taylor, Tahereh Mafi, and Claudia Gray.After revealing...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • The second book in the addictive, romantic Firelight trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan is perfect for fans of Laini Taylor, Tahereh Mafi, and Claudia Gray.

    After revealing herself as a draki to hunters to save Will, the boy she loves, Jacinda and her family must return to the safety of the pride. But her fellow draki no longer trust Jacinda, so her sister, Tamra, and their prince, Cassian, are among the few who will even talk to her.

    Jacinda longs for Will to keep his promise and come find her, even though she knows it is not only unlikely, it is dangerous. When, against all odds, he does track her down, Will's reappearance sets in motion a deadly chain of events that nobody can stop.

    In New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's dramatic follow-up to Firelight, forbidden love burns brighter than ever.

About the Author-

  • Sophie Jordan grew up in the Texas hill country where she wove fantasies of dragons, warriors, and princesses. A former high school English teacher, she's the New York Times, USA Today, and international bestselling author of more than thirty novels. She now lives in Houston with her family. When she's not writing, she spends her time overloading on caffeine (lattes preferred), talking plotlines with anyone who will listen (including her kids), and cramming her DVR with anything that has a happily ever after.

Reviews-

  • School Library Journal

    October 1, 2011

    Gr 8-11-Jacinda is a draki-she can shift from human to dragon form on command. She's done the unthinkable-shown her true form to a human, and a hunter at that. But she did so to save his life, because she happens to be in love with him. Jacinda is rescued by her sister, who suddenly manifests her draki form for the first time, and by Cassian, son of the draki pride leader. Jacinda and her sister both have powers that have not been seen in the pride in several generations, and so they stand out-yet Jacinda repeatedly risks her life and the secrecy of the pride to be with Will. Resting on touches of a "Twilight" story line and the shape-shifting many-powered beings does not help this supernatural romance stand out of the pack. A sequel to Firelight (HarperCollins, 2010), it opens mid-action, leaving first-time readers feeling a bit left out. There is not enough character depth to believe Jacinda's obsessive school-girl love, and the setting is only lightly developed. The draki world may have been formed in the first book, but does not carry through to the second. The ending leaves no doubt that there is more to come. Purchase where there is a following for the first book.-Angela J. Reynolds, Annapolis Valley Regional Library, Bridgetown, NS, Canada

    Copyright 2011 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus

    August 1, 2011

    What's a dragon-girl to do when she's in love with a boy who hunts dragons?

    In this first sequel to Jordon's Firelight (2010), Jacinda and her family return to the hidden mountain home of the draki "pride." Her twin sister, Tamra, finally manifests into a draki that can cloud humans' minds, making her as valuable to the pride as Jacinda with her fire-breathing ability. However, their mother and, especially, Jacinda face punishment for the infractions they've committed. Jacinda decides to take her lumps, try to fit in again and forget her heartthrob Will—until Will shows up in town (you knew they'd meet again somehow). Meanwhile, Jacinda also finds herself reluctantly attracted to Cassian, the young draki prince Tamra loves. Although the romantic entanglements fit the usual romance-novel pattern, the author manages to keep suspense high with thrilling fights and several escapes. Additionally, she touches on a theme of freedom versus authoritarianism within the essentially dictatorial draki society. Despite the fact that it's the second in a series, this installment stands on its own quite well. The author manages to explain the essentials from the previous plot without taking up too much space. Staple genre plot points abound, such as the impossibly handsome love interest and star-crossing impediments to love. Characterizations work well despite this.

    Overall, predictable but still imaginative, formulaic but still suspenseful. (Paranormal romance. 12 & up)

    (COPYRIGHT (2011) KIRKUS REVIEWS/NIELSEN BUSINESS MEDIA, INC. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.)

  • Booklist

    October 1, 2011
    Grades 8-12 Jacinda returns to the draki pride in their mountain village in this sequel to Firelight (2010), but her joy is short-lived. She is shunned for her transgressions, while her sister becomes a celebrity after manifesting into a rare shader draki. Jacinda works hard to earn the pride's forgiveness and forget Will, her human lover, even beginning a semi-reluctant but smoldering relationship with Cassian. None of this matters when Will appears and the reunited pair impulsively decide to run away. There are plenty of suspenseful fights and escapes, but this middle book is focused on the steamy love triangle, driven by Jacinda's frustrating lack of foresight. Though predictable, this paranormal romance series remains compelling.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2011, American Library Association.)

  • Kirkus Reviews

    Praise for Vanish: "With thrilling fights and several escapes...[an] impossibly handsome love interest and star–crossing impediments to love...[Vanish is] imaginative." — Kirkus Reviews

    Praise for Firelight: "Firelight soars to dizzying heights, combining forbidden love, scorching romance, and thrilling danger." — Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of Paranormalcy

    "Magnificent and masterful! A world so captivating, you'll never want to leave!" — Kerrelyn Sparks, New York Times bestselling author

    "Jordan's compelling addition to the supernatural star–crossed lovers theme is equal parts taut suspense and sensuous romance." — Booklist

    "Just surrender to the sizzle." — Kirkus Reviews

    "Jordan executes a refreshing and exciting tale of forbidden supernatural love and desire. Jacinda is strong and spunky, just like her story. Readers won't be able to put down this remarkable YA debut. An ethereal series start, Firelight should not be missed." — Romantic Times Starred Review

    "Jacinda and Will's intensely sexy scenes together will leave romance readers fired up for the planned sequel." — Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

    "This imaginative and intense story leaves you wanting more." — Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Vanish
Vanish
Firelight Series, Book 2
Sophie Jordan
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Vanish
Vanish
Firelight Series, Book 2
Sophie Jordan
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Township High School District 214, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close