Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
The Upside of Falling
Cover of The Upside of Falling
The Upside of Falling
Borrow Borrow Borrow
A fun, flirty teen debut from Wattpad phenom Alex Light about a fake relationship and real love. Perfect for Jenny Han fans.It's been years since seventeen-year-old Becca Hart believed in true love....
A fun, flirty teen debut from Wattpad phenom Alex Light about a fake relationship and real love. Perfect for Jenny Han fans.It's been years since seventeen-year-old Becca Hart believed in true love....
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    2

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • A fun, flirty teen debut from Wattpad phenom Alex Light about a fake relationship and real love. Perfect for Jenny Han fans.

    It's been years since seventeen-year-old Becca Hart believed in true love. But when her former best friend teases her for not having had a boyfriend, Becca impulsively pretends she's been secretly seeing someone.

    Brett Wells has it all. As captain of the football team and one of the most popular guys in his school, he should have no problem finding someone to date, but he's always been more focused on his future than who to bring to prom.

    When he overhears Becca's lie, Brett decides to step in and be the mystery guy. It's the perfect solution: he gets people off his back for not having a meaningful relationship and she can keep up the ruse that she's got a boyfriend.

    Acting like the perfect couple isn't easy, though, especially when you barely know the other person. But with Becca still picking up the pieces from when her world was blown apart years ago and Brett just barely holding his together now, they begin to realize they have more in common than they ever could have imagined.

    When the line between what is pretend and what is real begins to blur, they're forced to answer the question: Is this fake romance the realest thing in either of their lives?

About the Author-

  • Alex Light grew up reading too many books and listening to too many Taylor Swift songs. Now she writes books that make people laugh (and sometimes cry). Alex began writing as a teen. She shared dozens of love stories online, which have now been read over 150 million times. Shockingly, she graduated with a BA in English literature, giving her the perfect excuse to read even more books, when she wasn't busy writing her own. Alex lives in Toronto, Canada, with her three furry friends. She's an avid donut-eater, sometimes baker, and lover of the frozen winter months.

Reviews-

  • School Library Journal

    December 6, 2019

    Gr 9 Up-When studious Becca is taunted by her frenemy for not dating, she pretends to have a boyfriend. Determined to earn a spot playing college football, gorgeous Brett has ignored the dating scene, much to the dismay of his father. Overhearing Becca's lie, he jumps at the chance to be her fake boyfriend. Despite not knowing very much about each other, the two small-town Georgia teens realize they have more in common than they thought as they share ice cream and pastries and spend long hours in the arcade. Becca discovers she loves football much more than she could have imagined, while Brett finds literature increasingly more interesting under Becca's tutelage. Although the plot is somewhat predictable, readers will likely find many moments endearing as Becca and Brett develop a friendship that leads to true romance. VERDICT An additional purchase for fans of Jenny Han's To All the Boys I've Loved Before and Kasie West's The Fill-In Boyfriend.-Jillian Woychowski, West Haven High School, CT

    Copyright 2019 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus

    December 15, 2019
    High school seniors do the fake dating thing. Brett Wells has always been focused on football. Brainy Becca Hart's faith in love was destroyed by her parents' divorce. The two have little in common other than being pestered by their friends and families about the lack of a special someone in their lives. They embark upon a "fake relationship," but, predictably, it gives way to a real one. Debut author Light sprinkles in just enough charm and good-natured romance as the narrative bounces between Brett's and Becca's perspectives to keep readers engaged but not overwhelmed by twee sentiment. Becca is a much better developed character than Brett (handsome yet doofy, he has the complexity of a golden retriever), and her chapters are the novel's highlights. Brett's whole deal is a bigger pill to swallow, but readers who go with it will find a pleasant story. The novel is a syrupy ode to what it feels like to slowly fall for someone for the first time, and that mood is captured effectively. Becca and Brett have chemistry that feels completely natural, but sadly there are some late-in-the-game plot mechanics that feel forced. Fortunately, the author seems as uninterested in these disruptions as readers will be: Things are resolved quickly, and the novel ends on a high note. Whiteness is situated as the norm; main characters are white. A successful romantic enterprise. (Romance. 12-16)

    COPYRIGHT(2019) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Booklist

    November 1, 2019
    Grades 9-12 Becca, 18, is disillusioned about love; her father walked out on her mother when Becca was six, and now the only romance Becca cares about is in books. When Becca's ex-best friend Jenny embarrasses Becca in class by ridiculing her for being single, Becca claims to be secretly dating Brett, the football team's popular captain . . . and is shocked when he goes along with it. Brett idolizes his dad, an ex-footballer who lives vicariously through Brett's football success. Becca, despite herself, begins to fall for Brett even though she knows their relationship is all for show. And when Brett discovers a shocking secret about his parents, it threatens to destroy whatever he and Becca may have. Readers get both Brett's and Becca's points of view through alternating narratives. At times, the plot strains believability, and the prose can be awkward. Overall, though, this is a sweet and fun debut that neatly riffs on the unrealistic expectations romance novels can set for real life.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2019, American Library Association.)

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
The Upside of Falling
The Upside of Falling
Alex Light
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
The Upside of Falling
The Upside of Falling
Alex Light
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Township High School District 214, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close