Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Made for You
Cover of Made for You
Made for You
Borrow Borrow Borrow
Eva Tilling wakes up in the hospital to discover she possesses a strange new skill—the ability to foresee people's deaths when they touch her. While she is recovering from her hit-and-run...
Eva Tilling wakes up in the hospital to discover she possesses a strange new skill—the ability to foresee people's deaths when they touch her. While she is recovering from her hit-and-run...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • Eva Tilling wakes up in the hospital to discover she possesses a strange new skill—the ability to foresee people's deaths when they touch her. While she is recovering from her hit-and-run accident, Nate, an old flame, reappears, and the two must traverse their rocky past as they figure out how to use Eva's power to keep their friends—and each other—from falling into the hands of a killer.

    This contemporary romantic suspense novel from five-time New York Times bestselling author Melissa Marr earned widespread critical acclaim, with Kirkus Reviews calling it a "riveting whodunit that delivers a bouquet of teen romance, paranormal, and thriller." And BCCB declared, "Between the suspense, the horror, the romance, and the wit, this will have equal appeal for fans of Sarah Dessen and Rosemary Clement-Moore."

    A stark departure from her fantasy settings, this Southern Gothic, racy thriller gives fans old and new chilling twists, unrequited obsession, and high-stakes romance.

About the Author-

  • Melissa Marr is the New York Times bestselling author of the Wicked Lovely series as well as the adult fantasy novels Graveminder and The Arrivals. When not traveling, Melissa can be found in Phoenix or online at www.melissamarrbooks.com.

Reviews-

  • School Library Journal

    July 1, 2014

    Gr 9 Up-Eva Tilling is queen bee among an elite group of high school friends in tiny Jessup, North Carolina. When she's the victim of a hit-and-run, she struggles to remember what happened. Thanks to alternate narration, readers know what Eva doesn't: it wasn't an accident. As Eva recovers in the hospital, Judge, who confesses that's not his actual name, but his soul name, tells his side of the story. His logic for hitting her is hard to follow and incredibly disturbing. He feels he is saving her, teaching her lessons, and making offerings for her. His crimes and logic are tied to bizarre notions of fate, love, purity, status, and sex. Eva grows confident that someone is after her and her group of friends when she learns that, post-accident, she can foresee peoples' deaths. As she tries to figure out who the killer is and save her friends, Judge grows ever-closer to Eva, certain that it is God's plan for them to be together. Mixing elements of realism, paranormal, mystery, thriller, and romance, the story struggles to find its footing. The crimes committed are gruesome and Judge's "love" for Eva is chilling. The large cast of interchangable characters clutters up a thin plot that's already flailing from too many genre conventions. While it will certainly appeal to Marr's dedicated fans and those who like dark stories where horrific things happen, teens may find themselves skimming this overlong, slow-to-develop story simply to find out Judge's identity.-Amanda MacGregor, formerly at Apollo High School Library, St. Cloud, MN

    Copyright 2014 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus

    August 1, 2014
    In a small backwater town where social standing is everything, 17-year-old Eva discovers being the favorite can be terrifying. Eva's family is wealthy and influential, so it's big news when she's the victim of a hit-and-run that leaves her severely injured and deeply scarred. While recovering in the hospital, sweet-tempered Eva discovers her new and horrifying ability: When people touch her, she can foresee their deaths. When one of her friends is murdered and left with a message carved in her flesh, it's clear the killer wants Eva. The book is broken up by chapters in voices other than Eva's, the most absorbing of which is Judge, a sexually twisted religious zealot obsessed with Eva, who believes he's communicating with her through the flowers he leaves on his victims. Readers know he's the killer but not who he is among Eva's acquaintances. Lifelong friend Nate makes Eva's heart flutter. He stays handsomely by her side throughout the mounting terror. As the death toll increases, Eva, meek no more, uses her visions in an attempt to stop the murderer's elaborate plan to possess her. Marr, who generally explores supernatural themes, here pens a tightly choreographed spine-chiller with an intriguing view into the mind of a psychopath. This riveting whodunit delivers a bouquet of teen romance, paranormal and thriller. (Paranormal thriller/romance. 15-20)

    COPYRIGHT(2014) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Booklist

    September 15, 2014
    Grades 10-1 Eva Tilling has a new talent: when people touch her, she sinks into a vision of how they will die. Her freaky skill manifests during her hospital recovery from a hit-and-run that was no accident. This twisted modern southern gothic tale unfolds through the multiple perspectives of her friends and the killer, who nicknames himself Judge. Judge's chapters are sickening with details of his God-driven obsession for Eva and his sexual fantasies that are enacted on successive victims as he kills Eva's friends and leaves symbolic flowers and carved words in their flesh as messages for Eva. Eva's childhood friend Nate, now a hunky lothario, is hired as a companion for Eva, and that relationship will delight the romantics who read this paranormal romance thriller. The rest of the page flipping will be to discover the identity of the killer and to watch Eva foolishly go after him, making choices typical of a teen horror flick. Despite the page count, mysteries remain, but Marr's fans will want to read this. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: By now, purchasers know that they will need multiple copies of anything new from the New York Times best-selling author to satisfy fans.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2014, American Library Association.)

  • Kirkus Reviews

    "This riveting whodunit delivers a bouquet of teen romance, paranormal and thriller." — Kirkus Reviews

    "Genuinely chill-inducing... between the suspense, the horror, the romance, and the wit, this will have equal appeal for fans of Sarah Dessen and Rosemary Clement-Moore." — Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

    "Fans of Marr's Wicked Lovely series will be delighted by this Southern Gothic romantic paranormal thriller." — Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

    "A smart, sassy thriller! Melissa Marr shows off her killer instincts in this sensational tale of a southern debutante's scary ability to foresee death, and the man who'd like to end it, permanently." — Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling crime novelist

    "A must-read for all fans of romantic thrillers." — Suzanne Brockmann, New York Times bestselling author

    "Seductively creepy, disturbingly realistic, and intensely suspenseful. This sinister tale of twisted teenage love and obsession will pull you in from the first page—and haunt you long after you close the last one." — Hank Phillippi Ryan, winner of the Mary Higgins Clark, Agatha, and Anthony awards

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Made for You
Made for You
Melissa Marr
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Made for You
Made for You
Melissa Marr
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Township High School District 214, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close