Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
These Vengeful Hearts
Cover of These Vengeful Hearts
These Vengeful Hearts
Borrow Borrow Borrow
A thrilling novel about a secret society and the dangers that lie in wait for anyone brave enough to join—perfect for fans of Karen M. McManus, Kara Thomas, and Maureen Johnson.Whenever something...
A thrilling novel about a secret society and the dangers that lie in wait for anyone brave enough to join—perfect for fans of Karen M. McManus, Kara Thomas, and Maureen Johnson.Whenever something...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • A thrilling novel about a secret society and the dangers that lie in wait for anyone brave enough to join—perfect for fans of Karen M. McManus, Kara Thomas, and Maureen Johnson.
    Whenever something scandalous happens at Heller High, the Red Court is the name on everyone's lips. Its members deal out social ruin and favors in equal measure, their true identities known only by their leader: the Queen of Hearts.
    Ember Williams has seen firsthand the damage the Red Court can do. Now, she's determined to hold the organization accountable by taking it down from the inside. But will the cost of revenge be more than she's willing to sacrifice?

About the Author-

  • Katherine Laurin lives in Colorado with her husband, two sons and tiny dog. When she's not writing, Katherine enjoys reading, traveling, hiking and listening to true crime podcasts.

Reviews-

  • School Library Journal

    July 1, 2020

    Gr 7 Up-Sixteen-year-old Ember Williams is ready when she receives her invitation to join the Red Court. The Red Court rules over Heller High, doling out favors and exerting power over the student body and administrators. Two years ago, the secret society was responsible for the tragic accident that left Ember's sister April paralyzed, and Ember has been plotting her revenge ever since. What she didn't count on was feeling excited about her assignments from the Red Court. Even when she is tasked with bringing down her best friend, Gideon, thwarting the task and learning the reasons behind the request make her feel powerful. Soon, Ember loses sight of her original mission as she is pulled into the intrigue and power of the Red Court. There are many novels about secret societies in schools, though not all of them have the vicious bent this one does. The Red Court is willing to do just about anything-and hurt just about anyone. In first person, Ember draws readers into the drama of finding the members of the Red Court, including their leader, the Queen of Hearts, while trying not to lose her own identity. It takes a little bit to get into the story but after the first chapter, the narrative picks up. Ember is a well-drawn protagonist, and Gideon and April are more than just stock characters. VERDICT Recommend this to fans of E. Lockhart's The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks and Daisy Whitney's The Mockingbirds.-Natalie Struecker, Cedar Rapids P.L., IA

    Copyright 2020 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus

    July 15, 2020
    A high school sophomore discovers revenge comes with a price. When Ember Williams entered Heller High, she had a particular goal in mind: to join the Red Court, a powerful secret organization with a track record for, among other things, influencing student elections, altering grades, and spreading slander. Carrying out these actions doesn't cost money but instead leaves the requester indebted, with a favor that can be called in at the Red Court's whim. Ember's invitation finally comes, setting in motion her four-step plan to take down the Queen of Hearts--the group's leader--and dismantle the organization as revenge for an accident the Court caused that left her sister, April, paralyzed. At first, her missions seem relatively mild--posing for a picture to incite a breakup or leaving notes to request favors from indebted students--and they even lead to a budding relationship with Chase Merriman, a know-it-all with whom Ember competes to be top of their class. However, the missions soon escalate, affecting those closest to her--like her best friend, Gideon--and as Ember learns more about her sister's accident, she begins to reevaluate both her intentions and her decision to stay in the Court. Laurin's novel tackles the destructive power of high school bullying through characters who are compelling in their complexity; their deceitfulness is often a means of survival. Most characters are White by default; Gideon is gay and biracial (White/Korean). Gripping, thrilling, Machiavellian. (Thriller. 14-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2020) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Publisher's Weekly

    August 3, 2020
    Laurin’s ungainly but compelling debut blends a conventional romance with a less deadly version of high school thrillers in the style of Maureen Johnson and Kara Thomas. For years, a secret student cabal, the Red Court, has ruled Heller High School. Working in cells of two and led by the mysterious Red Queen, the all-female group uses a system of owed favors to rig homecoming elections, change exam results, expose dalliances, and more. Certain that the Red Court is behind an incident that paralyzed her older sister from the waist down, high achiever September Williams has positioned herself to enter the secret society with the goal of destroying the group from within. After Ember’s initiation—staging a photo to break up an established couple—kicks off a predictable romance with her academic nemesis, dishy Chase Merriman, her Red Court assignments take on an oddly personal turn and become increasingly destructive. While the baroque scheming moves things along, the novel’s real pleasure comes from watching tightly wound Ember leave some of her preconceptions behind—finding an unexpected friend in her Red Court mentor and coming to terms with just how much she relishes her newfound control. Ages 13–up. Agent: Tess Callero, Europa Content.

  • Booklist

    September 1, 2020
    Grades 9-12 For years, the halls of Heller High have been ruled by the Red Court, a secret society of students who trade secrets and favors, ruining fellow students' lives in exchange for a collection of promises, i.e., debts. Those who want to see their classmates go down vow to pay the Court back someday. When Ember gets her invitation to join the Court, she knows all the work she's put into making herself the perfect candidate has been worth it, because after what they did to her sister, she doesn't want to rule the Court; she wants to end it. Laurin has crafted a well-plotted suspense novel that's all the more powerful because the reader can sense from the beginning how destructive and seductive the power can be, even as Ember remains sure she'll be able to rise above it. Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars, this will keep readers rapt, not because of the lives of Court's victims they'll watch unfurl, but because those causing the destruction are unraveling twice as fast.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2020, American Library Association.)

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Inkyard Press
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
These Vengeful Hearts
These Vengeful Hearts
Katherine Laurin
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
These Vengeful Hearts
These Vengeful Hearts
Katherine Laurin
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Township High School District 214, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close