Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
The Summer of Broken Rules
Cover of The Summer of Broken Rules
The Summer of Broken Rules
Borrow Borrow Borrow
A romance novel inspired by the songs of Taylor Swift! *NOW A USA TODAY BESTSELLER*This BookTok sensation is perfect for fans of Jenny Han's The Summer I Turned Pretty and Sarah Dessen's Along for the...
A romance novel inspired by the songs of Taylor Swift! *NOW A USA TODAY BESTSELLER*This BookTok sensation is perfect for fans of Jenny Han's The Summer I Turned Pretty and Sarah Dessen's Along for the...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • A romance novel inspired by the songs of Taylor Swift!

    *NOW A USA TODAY BESTSELLER*

    This BookTok sensation is perfect for fans of Jenny Han's The Summer I Turned Pretty and Sarah Dessen's Along for the Ride.

    Meredith's family's annual game of assassin at Martha's Vineyard during a summer wedding is the perfect chance to honor her sister's legacy, and finally join the world again. But when she forms an alliance with a cute groomsman, she's at risk of losing both the game ... and her heart.

    When Meredith Fox lost her sister, Claire, eighteen months ago, she shut everyone out. But this summer she's determined to join the world again.

    The annual family vacation to Martha's Vineyard seems like the perfect place to reconnect. Her entire extended family is gathering for a big summer wedding, and although Meredith is dateless after being unexpectedly dumped, she's excited to participate in the traditional Fox family game of assassin that will take place during the week of wedding festivities. Claire always loved the game, and Meredith is determined to honor her legacy.

    But when Meredith forms an assassin alliance with a cute groomsman, she finds herself getting distracted. Meredith tries to focus on the game and win it for her sister, but she can't help falling for him. And as the week progresses, she realizes she's not only at risk of losing the game, but also her heart.

    "The feel-good summer read of my dreams!"—Alicia, Goodreads Reviewer

    "Boy, did it also give me all the summer feels."—Larissa, Goodreads Reviewer

    "This book is bound to become a favorite of all who love contemporary romance."—Kelly, Goodreads Reviewer

    "If beachy contemporary romances are your jam, then trust me—you do NOT want to miss this book."—Jessica, Goodreads Reviewer

About the Author-

  • K.L. Walther was born and raised in the rolling hills of Bucks County, Pennsylvania surrounded by family, dogs, and books. Her childhood was spent traveling the northeastern seaboard to play ice hockey. She attended a boarding school in New Jersey and went on to earn a B.A. in English from the University of Virginia. She is happiest on the beach with a book, cheering for the New York Rangers, or enjoying a rom-com while digging into a big bowl of popcorn and M&Ms. She is the author of If We Were Us and The Summer of Broken Rules. Visit her online at klwalther.com

Reviews-

  • Kirkus

    April 15, 2021
    A summer trip helps break 18-year-old Meredith Fox out of a haze of mourning. Her cousin's wedding means a return to Martha's Vineyard, a well-loved destination but one filled with bittersweet memories. It's been a year and a half since the sudden loss of Meredith's sister, Claire, and the grief remains strong. Meredith, though, resolves to take this time to celebrate family and bridge the rifts resulting from ghosting friends. She didn't plan on a meet-cute/embarrassing encounter with the groom's stepbrother, Wit. Nor did she expect a wedding-week game of Assassin, a water-gun-fueled family tradition. What starts off as a pact of sharing strategic information with Wit grows into something more as the flirting and feelings develop. Only one person can win, though, and any alliance has an expiration date. To win and honor Claire, who was a master of the game, Meredith must keep her eye on the prize. Taking place over the course of a week, the narrative is tight with well-paced reveals that disrupt predictability and keep the plot moving. Early details are picked back up, and many elements come satisfyingly full circle. The short time frame also heightens the tension of this summer romance: What will happen when they leave the bubble of the Vineyard? The mix of budding romance, competitive hijinks, a close-knit circle, as well as dealing with loss make for a satisfying read. The main cast is White. Summery fun and games with feeling. (family tree) (Romance. 14-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2021) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    May 1, 2021

    Gr 9 Up-It's the summer after senior year, and Meredith is traveling to Martha's Vineyard for her cousin's wedding. She's just been dumped and is nervous about her first trip to the family farm since the death of her sister, Claire, 18 months ago. Meredith can't go anywhere on the island without being reminded of her sister, but she is determined to use her grief to propel her to victory in the annual game of Assassin in Claire's honor. However, an alliance-turned-budding romance with a charming groomsman threatens to complicate things. While most teens won't be able to relate to the wealth and lifestyle of the close-knit and quirky Fox family, this book is nonetheless an engaging read. The high-stakes and often humorous drama of Assassin helps frame the story and move the plot along, and the moments of grief, while numerous, don't feel too heavy. The Fox family presents as white (Meredith has light hair and green eyes) and there are some passing mentions of secondary characters of color, such as Michael, the groom with Creole roots, and Luli, a friend adopted from Central America. VERDICT Recommended for larger collections with dedicated romance readers.-Katie Patterson, Aloha Comm. Lib., OR

    Copyright 2021 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Sourcebooks
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
The Summer of Broken Rules
The Summer of Broken Rules
K. L. Walther
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
The Summer of Broken Rules
The Summer of Broken Rules
K. L. Walther
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Township High School District 214, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close