Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
The Summer of Lost Things
Cover of The Summer of Lost Things
The Summer of Lost Things
New town, new friends, new guy . . . and an old bucket list. The past haunts the present in the newest installation in the Love, Lucas universe. After her dad is sentenced to prison time,...
New town, new friends, new guy . . . and an old bucket list. The past haunts the present in the newest installation in the Love, Lucas universe. After her dad is sentenced to prison time,...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    0
  • Library copies:
    0

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • New town, new friends, new guy . . . and an old bucket list. The past haunts the present in the newest installation in the Love, Lucas universe.
    After her dad is sentenced to prison time, seventeen-year-old Lucy Nelson and her mother move across the country to start over in the town—and farmhouse—where her mother grew up.
    Once settled, Lucy is determined to keep her mind off anything "real" and decides to pass the time by reading a stack of her mother's childhood books, which has sat in her grandmother's home for decades. When Lucy finds her mom's old summer bucket list shoved between the pages of a worn copy of Anne of Green Gables, she's eager to write her own list to escape her inevitable summer boredom. Feeling brave, she fills it with challenges she'd never normally do and also adds the one thing that her mother had never crossed off the original list: Visit Susan's grave.
    When Lucy befriends Mira and her handsome cousin, Jack, she begins to feel almost normal as they help check off her list. When she asks her mother about Susan, she refuses to talk about her. As Lucy falls for Jack, she yearns to tell him the truth about her dad and her old life but lies about everything instead. When her friends see through the lies and her mom reaches her breaking point over questions about Susan, Lucy must learn to trust her friends, try to bring peace to her mother, and to somehow find the courage to forgive her dad.

About the Author-

  • Chantele Sedgwick is a young adult author, harpist, wife to one, and mom to four. She loves to read (of course), Kit Kats, anything coconut, and is a little obsessed with dinosaurs and Harry Potter. She is the author of Love, Lucas, Switching Gears, and Interlude. Chantele lives in Utah with her family.

Reviews-

  • Kirkus

    May 15, 2019
    Following her father's imprisonment and her maternal grandmother's death, Lucy and her mother, Ana, leave Wyoming and move into her mother's childhood home in Salem, Oregon. Named after her mother's favorite author, Lucy Maud Montgomery, Lucy picks up Ana's old copy of Anne of Green Gables and finds a list of summer plans from her mother's teen years; it sparks her curiosity and inspires a list of her own. There is considerable tension between Lucy and her mother as they work on fixing up the house and settling into the community. Lucy misses her old friends and dreads being the new girl at school, but after meeting cousins Mira and Jack, it looks like the summer won't be too boring. However, Lucy's despair and frustration over her father's past behavior cause her to lie about him to her new friends, nearly derailing their budding friendship and her growing connection with Jack. Lucy is a sympathetic protagonist even when she makes the wrong choices. As she learns more about her mother's teen years, she gains a deeper understanding of her, which is revealed in a realistic way. The immediate secondary characters are also intriguing. Most characters are assumed white, although Ana's father was Puerto Rican and Mira is described as having dark brown skin. Each chapter begins with a pithy quote from a classic novel, in keeping with Lucy's love of reading. A quietly satisfying read. (Fiction. 12-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2019) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Kate Watson, author of Seeking Mansfield and Shoot the Moon "Mia's journey to save her sister threatened to break my heart, even as her relationship with Jax sought to mend it. Have a box of tissues ready. You won't want to miss this moving story of love and sacrifice."
  • Katie A. Nelson, author of The Duke of Bannerman Prep "A heartfelt novel about the depth of a sister's love, the weight of choices, and the people who come into our lives and leave us forever changed."
  • Olivia Rivers, author of Tone Deaf "A beautifully crafted tale of love, loss, and loyalty. Mia's feisty determination will quickly win over hearts, while the fast pace and surprise ending will keep readers turning the pages. Interlude is a pitch-perfect YA novel that will appeal to fans of John Green and Abbi Glines."
  • Rebecca Christiansen, author of Maybe in Paris "Take one girl who will do anything to save her sick sister, add one rockstar on the run from his troubles, and one stormy family history, and you have Chantele Sedgwick's Interlude. Sweet, heartfelt, and full of music, it perfectly mixes family drama with a burgeoning romance and hits every note."
  • School Library Journal "Throughout this complex adventure that starts off as a rescue and results in self-discovery, Mia must learn to trust in herself, her family, and new friends. Though the overlying theme of the story is relatively heavy, readers can connect through Mia's light-hearted narrative voice and relate to the tumbling emotions that the she feels throughout her journey. VERDICT This book, fitting into the same niche as John Green's The Fault in Our Stars and Jennifer Niven's All the Bright Places, will be a must-read for those fans."
  • Kirkus Reviews "Swift, dialogue-driving pacing keeps pages turning . . . An emotionally satisfying read."
  • Booklist "A sweet and innocent story, perfect for readers who love happy endings, especially when they seem out of reach."

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Sky Pony
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
The Summer of Lost Things
The Summer of Lost Things
Chantele Sedgwick
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
The Summer of Lost Things
The Summer of Lost Things
Chantele Sedgwick
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Township High School District 214, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close