Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
The Perfect Escape
Cover of The Perfect Escape
The Perfect Escape
Borrow Borrow
"Indeed the perfect escape from, well, pretty much everything."—SARAH HENNING, author of Throw Like a Girl and the Sea Witch duologyLove is a battlefield in this hysterical romantic comedy, perfect for...
"Indeed the perfect escape from, well, pretty much everything."—SARAH HENNING, author of Throw Like a Girl and the Sea Witch duologyLove is a battlefield in this hysterical romantic comedy, perfect for...
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • "Indeed the perfect escape from, well, pretty much everything."—SARAH HENNING, author of Throw Like a Girl and the Sea Witch duology

    Love is a battlefield in this hysterical romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Jenny Han and teen romance books.

    Nate Jae-Woo Kim wants to be rich. When one of his classmates offers Nate a ridiculous amount of money to commit grade fraud, he knows that taking the windfall would help support his prideful Korean family, but is compromising his integrity worth it?

    Luck comes in the form of Kate Anderson, Nate's colleague at the zombie-themed escape room where he works. She approaches Nate with a plan: a local tech company is hosting a weekend-long survivalist competition with a huge cash prize. It could solve all of Nate's problems, and she needs the money too.

    If the two of them team up, Nate has a real shot of winning the grand prize. But the real challenge? Making through the weekend with his heart intact...

    A great pick for:
  • Readers of YA romance and romantic comedy books
  • Parents who need gifts for teens and reluctant readers
  • Fans of Sarah Dessen, Kasie West and Christina Lauren
  • People who love both the Hunger Games and rom-coms and didn't know they needed a crossover
  • Praise for The Perfect Escape:
    A Junior Library Guild selection!
    "Pure fun! A hilarious rom-com that head-fakes you into tumbling headlong into a techno-zombie survival thriller propelled by banter and plenty of heart."—David Yoon, New York Times bestselling author of Frankly in Love
    "The Perfect Escape is just that—perfect. Filled with humor and heart, it won't let you go until you're smiling."—Danielle Paige, New York Times bestselling author of the Dorothy Must Die series and Stealing Snow
    "An adorable, laugh-out-loud YA romcom with a lovable hero and an action-packed zombie-themed escape room—what more could you want?"—Jenn Bennett, author of Alex, Approximately

Reviews-

  • School Library Journal

    February 1, 2020

    Gr 9 Up-Kate is desperate to get away from her controlling, tech pioneer father, while Nate is determined to fund his entrepreneurial ideas and make it to college while keeping his immigrant family afloat. When Kate and Nate meet at their zombie escape room job, they commit to a large-scale zombie survival challenge that, if they win, will leave them with a much-needed lump of cash. With a number of external obstacles to handle, including a case of eczema, an old crush who still holds Nate's attention, and a wealthy classmate putting pressure on Nate to drop his grades in exchange for thousands of dollars, this book struggles to stay organized and maintain a steady pace. While many of the conflicts are interesting and original, their individual impacts are never fully realized, making their introduction and continuation feel more like distractions than plot points. Park highlights Nate's experience as a Korean American, bringing an #OwnVoices perspective to the novel, and most of the characters are painted realistically enough for the purposes of the plot. However, Nate and Kate's chemistry falls flat and a surplus of secondary and tertiary characters overwhelms the relatively short book. VERDICT Readers may find this to be like a stock photo-it gets the point across, but without the genuine emotion to make it truly worth collecting.-Abby Hargreaves, District of Columbia Public Library

    Copyright 2020 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus

    February 15, 2020
    Aside from their mutual obsession with zombies and zombie films, Nate and Kate seem like polar opposites. Korean American high school senior Nate Kim works hard--whether as a full scholarship student at the exclusive private high school he attends (and is bullied at) or at his job at the Zombie Laboratory escape room. Seeing how hard his immigrant parents struggle to make ends meet, he aspires to start his own business after college and get rich. On the other hand, as the daughter of the CEO of the AI robotics company Digitools, Kate Anderson, who is white, lives in a huge, high-tech house, also attends private school, and uses the credit card her absentee workaholic father leaves her to order food for her solo dinners. Their worlds collide when Kate starts working at the Zombie Laboratory, wanting to make her own money and choose her own destiny. Things take off when Kate asks Nate to be her partner in Zombiegeddon, a weekend zombie survival challenge that offers a generous cash prize. Debut author Park's well-written title slyly infuses what seems like a typical teen romantic comedy with thoughtful treatment of diversity, microaggressions, classism and class struggles, immigration, and privilege while capturing the sweetness of two nerds falling for each other. The dose of action toward the latter half of the book comes about naturally, helping to propel the plot forward. A charming, thoughtful portrayal of complex teen relationships. (Fiction. 14-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2020) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • David Yoon, New York Times bestselling author of Frankly in Love "Pure fun! A hilarious rom-com that head-fakes you into tumbling headlong into a techno-zombie survival thriller propelled by banter and plenty of heart."
  • Danielle Paige, New York Times bestselling author of the Dorothy Must Die series and Stealing Snow "The Perfect Escape is just that-perfect. Filled with humor and heart, it won't let you go until you're smiling."
  • Jenn Bennett, author of Alex, Approximately "An adorable, laugh-out-loud YA romcom with a lovable hero and an action-packed zombie-themed escape room-what more could you want?"
  • Gloria Chao, author of American Panda and Our Wayward Fate "Suzanne Park's debut was a thrilling ride with lovable characters and plenty of belly laughs."
  • Nina Moreno, author of Don't Date Rosa Santos "The funniest love stories can start in the most unexpected of places. The Perfect Escape is a whip-smart, hilarious rom-com that boldly explores classism, family expectations, and how to outrun zombies."
  • Sabina Khan, author of The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali "Quirky and hilarious, The Perfect Escape has everything you've ever wanted in a rom-com. Suzanne Park has created the perfect mix of humor and heart against the backdrop of zombie adventures guaranteed to keep you laughing. Nate and Kate are absolutely adorable and you'll be rooting for them until the very end. A must-have addition to any bookshelf!"

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Sourcebooks
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
The Perfect Escape
The Perfect Escape
Suzanne Park
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
The Perfect Escape
The Perfect Escape
Suzanne Park
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Township High School District 214, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close