Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
A Far Wilder Magic
Cover of A Far Wilder Magic
A Far Wilder Magic
Borrow Borrow Borrow
AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERAN INSTANT INDIE BESTSELLERONE OF 2022'S MOST ANTICIPATED READS: * BUZZFEED * EPIC READS * GOODREADS * THE NERD DAILY * UNITED BY POP *"An utterly transportive read,...
AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERAN INSTANT INDIE BESTSELLERONE OF 2022'S MOST ANTICIPATED READS: * BUZZFEED * EPIC READS * GOODREADS * THE NERD DAILY * UNITED BY POP *"An utterly transportive read,...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
    AN INSTANT INDIE BESTSELLER
    ONE OF 2022'S MOST ANTICIPATED READS:
    * BUZZFEED * EPIC READS * GOODREADS * THE NERD DAILY * UNITED BY POP *
    "An utterly transportive read, unfolding into a world of crumbling manors and ancient forests. Allison Saft crafts a deliberate, intricate romance that will have you as unmoored as the characters."
    Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights
    A romantic YA fantasy perfect for fans of Erin A. Craig and Margaret Rogerson, about two people who find themselves competing for gloryand each other's heartsin a magical fox hunt.
    When Margaret Welty spots the legendary hala, the last living mythical creature, she knows the Halfmoon Hunt will soon follow. Whoever is able to kill the hala will earn fame and riches, and unlock an ancient magical secret. While Margaret is the best sharpshooter in town, only teams of two can register, and she needs an alchemist.
    Weston Winters isn't an alchemist—yet. He's been fired from every apprenticeship he's landed, and his last chance hinges on Master Welty taking him in. But when Wes arrives at Welty Manor, he finds only Margaret. She begrudgingly allows him to stay, but on one condition: he must join the hunt with her.
    Although they make an unlikely team, they soon find themselves drawn to each other. As the hunt looms closer and tensions rise, Margaret and Wes uncover dark magic that could be the key to winning the hunt—if they survive that long.
    In A Far Wilder Magic, Allison Saft has written an achingly tender love story set against a deadly hunt in an atmospheric, rich fantasy world that will sweep you away.
    "Innovative, romantic, and intoxicating. A Far Wilder Magic is a diamond of the YA fantasy genre, with a fresh and artfully layered world and extraordinary characters to match."Amanda Foody, author of Ace of Shades

About the Author-

  • Allison Saft is the author of the eerie and critically acclaimed romantic fantasies, Down Comes the Night and A Far Wilder Magic. After receiving her MA in English literature from Tulane University, she moved from the Gulf Coast to the West Coast, where she spends her time hiking the redwoods and practicing aerial silks.

Reviews-

  • Kirkus

    January 15, 2022
    An aspiring alchemist and a talented sharpshooter team up to hunt an ancient beast. When the hala appears each autumn, New Albion's Halfmoon Hunt soon follows. Teams consisting of a marksman and an alchemist hunt the creature in pursuit of fame and fortune. Though the Katharist church condemns the hala as a demon, 17-year-old Margaret Welty has been taught by her Yu'adir father that it is a sacred creation of God. Legend even has it that the hala's alchemized carcass could be forged into the philosopher's stone. If Maggie wins the hunt and kills the hala, her alchemist mother, gone for months, may finally return home to stay. Weston Winters, son of Banvish-Sumic immigrants, has been fired from every apprenticeship he's charmed his way into. Being taken on as Evelyn Welty's student is his best chance at becoming an alchemist, but when he arrives at Welty Manor, Maggie immediately dislikes him. However, after they ultimately come to understand each other's personal motives, they rely on one another to achieve their dreams. This atmospheric, emotionally driven story focuses on the slow-burn romance between two outcasts who yearn to belong and who face discrimination for their cultural and religious backgrounds. Characters are cued as White, and New Albion is reminiscent of early-20th-century America: the Banvish-Sumic, Katharist, and Yu'adir people read as fantasy-world corollaries of Irish Catholic, Protestant, and Jewish immigrants, respectively. Deeply romantic and utterly magical. (map) (Fantasy. 14-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2022) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Publisher's Weekly

    January 24, 2022
    Two white, religious outcasts—an alchemist and a marksman—team up in a divine fox hunt in this vividly written, 1920s-esque fantasy romance and blunt political parable. Months after 17-year-old Jewish-analogue Margaret Welty’s researcher and alchemist mother left her behind in their crumbling New Albion manor, the Halfmoon Hunt comes to her small colonial seaside town, intending to kill the last living demiurge, the hala. And with it arrives working-class Catholic-analogue emigrants’ son Weston Winters, 18, who attempts to charm Maggie into a last-ditch apprenticeship with her mother to save his reformist political ambitions. After Wes’s mother is injured and his hopes further endangered, Wes and Maggie partner up to win the festive—but deadly—hala hunt, save Weston’s starving family, and bring Margaret’s mother home. But as their slow-growing attraction blooms alongside a rivalry with the bigoted mayor’s son, Wes must find a way to crack a puzzle involving Maggie’s mother—and Maggie must choose the future she wants. Saft’s (Down Comes the Night) confident prose organically charts the well-characterized protagonists’ romance, but its allegorized Catholic and Jewish experiences center on stereotype and its magic on rigid formula. Fans of Brandon Sanderson and Libba Bray may nevertheless appreciate this light, fantastical romance. Ages 14–up. Agent: Claire Friedman and Jessica Mileo, Inkwell Management.

  • Booklist

    February 1, 2022
    Grades 9-12 Margaret's mother is an alchemist who disappeared on a research trip three months ago, so Margaret lives alone at the edge of the forest. When she's out chopping firewood one night, she spies the hala, a ghostly white fox that is the target of the Halfmoon Hunt. The team of two that catches the hala is rewarded with fame and fortune, not to mention the magically lucrative opportunity to research the hala's corpse. Since Margaret can't hunt alone, she resigns herself to missing this chance, until she's approached by wannabe alchemist Weston, the perfect companion. Well, almost perfect--Wes isn't really an alchemist, strictly speaking, but he needs to become one to help his family survive. Together, Wes and Margaret might save themselves, and each other, from their dim futures. As she did in her debut, Down Comes the Night (2021), Saft skillfully engineers an odd pair that are forced to work together. This standalone will definitely hook readers who like a little enemies-to-friends in their romances.

    COPYRIGHT(2022) Booklist, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    March 1, 2022

    Gr 7 Up-The Halfmoon Hunt has come to Margaret Welty's village and the redwood forest that surrounds it. Hunters from all over the world come to try to kill the last living hala, a legendary fox whose body parts offer incredible magical properties to alchemists. Wes, an unlicensed alchemist with undiagnosed dyslexia, is in desperate need of a mentor, and Evelyn Welty is the last alchemist left. When Wes ends up at Margaret's door in search of her ever-absent mother, they realize that the Halfmoon Hunt they want no part of could give them exactly what they desire most. For Margaret, that means rare alchemical supplies that would make her mother return home, and for Wes, it means proof that Evelyn would find him a worthy apprentice. Margaret is best described as a cactus with abandonment issues, while Wes works hard for his cheerful optimism as Saft leans into the sunshine/grumpy romance trope. Her sophomore novel has her signature lush prose and evocative settings, with dynamic characters who pull the plot along in its slow moments. The world of New Albion mirrors political-cultural tensions of history, with Wes's family being Banvish and experiencing similar discrimination to what Irish people faced in early 20th-century America, while Maggie is Yu'adir, coded Judaism, and there are discussions of prejudice and Yu'adir facing massacres overseas, akin to the pogroms of that period. Readers should be aware of this version of anti-Semitism, as well as animal death and injury. VERDICT This read-alike to Maggie Stiefvater's The Scorpio Races is worth purchasing. While there are heavy topics, this fantasy fills a familiar plot arc with a unique setting, cast, and a lovely romance between two characters who are considered outsiders by society at large.-Emmy Neal

    Copyright 2022 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Buzzfeed "Much like Shadow and Bone, A Far Wilder Magic by Allison Saft features a land consumed by anti-immigration and antisemitic thought. At its core is a tradition: a hunt for a magical beast. For anyone wanting a romantic fantasy storyline, this one is between a sharpshooter and an alchemist."
  • Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights "Deeply entrancing. Teeming with magic and alchemy, A Far Wilder Magic is an utterly transportive read, unfolding into a world of crumbling manors and ancient forests. Allison Saft crafts a deliberate, intricate romance that will have you as unmoored as the characters."
  • Shelf Awareness "Saft's writing drips with color and paints a world so real you feel like you can touch it. A thrilling adventure full of magic and danger reminiscent of Fullmetal Alchemist, A Far Wilder Magic is a story you won't put down."

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    St. Martin's Publishing Group
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
A Far Wilder Magic
A Far Wilder Magic
Allison Saft
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
A Far Wilder Magic
A Far Wilder Magic
Allison Saft
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Township High School District 214, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close