Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Time Will Tell
Cover of Time Will Tell
Time Will Tell
Borrow Borrow Borrow
A young-adult thriller ricocheting between the bigotry of the past and present as teens unravel their parents’ secrets. Perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying. Four teens have dug up the...
A young-adult thriller ricocheting between the bigotry of the past and present as teens unravel their parents’ secrets. Perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying. Four teens have dug up the...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • A young-adult thriller ricocheting between the bigotry of the past and present as teens unravel their parents’ secrets. Perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying.
     
    Four teens have dug up the time capsule that their parents buried in 1986 and never bothered to recover. But in addition to the expected ephemera of mixtapes, Walkmans, photographs, letters, toys, and assorted junk, Elayah, Liam, Marcie, and Jorja discover something sinister: a hunting knife stained with blood and wrapped with a note. “I'm sorry. I didn’t mean to kill anyone."
     
    As the action dramatically alternates between the present day and 1986, the mystery unfolds and the sins of the past echo into today. The teens haven't just unearthed a time capsule: they’ve also dug up pain and secrets that someone—maybe one of their own parents—is willing to kill for.

About the Author-

  • Barry Lyga is the author of several acclaimed young adult novels, including I Hunt Killers, its sequel Game, and his debut, The Astonishing Adventures of Fanboy and Goth Girl. He now knows way too much about how to dispose of a human body. Barry lives and writes in New York City. His website is barrylyga.com.

Reviews-

  • Publisher's Weekly

    Starred review from July 12, 2021
    Lyga (I Hunt Killers) grips readers at every turn in this layered and provoking mystery that tackles sexual assault, mental illness, bullying, homophobia, and racism. When Elayah (who is Black and known as El), Liam, Marcie, and Jorja (who default to white) open their parents’ 1986 high school time capsule, they find analog-age relics along with a note wrapped around a bloodied knife that reads, “I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to kill anyone.” Convinced that the knife may be connected to her uncle Antoine, who disappeared just after homecoming that year, El is determined to investigate, even after being wounded by an unknown attacker. As they enter new relationships and engage in dangerous acts of kidnapping and subterfuge, the Maryland foursome come to question everything they know about their parents. Switching perspectives between the present-day and 1986, Lyga’s novel is packed with unexpected twists and red herrings. Though the introduction of a podcaster brings unrealistic advantages to the case, razor-sharp descriptions engage throughout as Lyga demonstrates the tragic way that past actions can affect future generations. Ages 14–up. Agent: Kathleen Anderson, Anderson Literary.

  • Kirkus

    August 15, 2021
    Four teens try to piece together a 35-year-old mystery. In Canterstown in the present day, four close friends--Liam, Elayah, Marcie, and Jorja--dig up a time capsule that their parents buried decades ago and find, among a few harmless keepsakes, a bloodied knife and a note that reads, "I'm sorry. I didn't mean to kill anyone." Not long after, Elayah is attacked in her own home and almost dies. Though Liam's dad is the sheriff and he says he's on the case, the four friends begin harboring suspicions against their own parents when their excuses and backstories just don't add up. Meanwhile, in 1986, the stories of Dean, Jay, and twins Marcus and Antoine unfurl, chronicling the lead-up to the burial of the capsule (and its murder weapon). As the contemporary amateur sleuths try to find answers, they risk endangering themselves further for a truth they might not want to hear. Though the novel is a bit bloated with its long list of characters and hefty page count, the central mystery and various twists will keep readers turning pages. Lyga does an excellent job of portraying a racially and sexually diverse cast, not shying away from the realities of having a marginalized identity but rather braiding those elements into the plot itself. A twisty thriller that asks: How much do you really know about your parents? (Thriller. 14-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2021) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    September 1, 2021

    Gr 10 Up-Liam, Elayah, Marcie, and Jorja, who grew up together in a rural town, have decided to unearth a time capsule that was buried over 30 years ago by their parents. The teens hope to find some cool 1980s treasures and a link to their parents' pasts, but they also discover an item that leads to a lot of questions: a bloody knife with a note attached that reads, "I'm sorry. I didn't mean to kill anyone." Now, the teens are faced with the idea that one of their parents may have killed someone or may be covering for someone who did, so they band together to uncover what exactly happened. The story shifts from present day to 1986 to reveal troubles from the past that resurface in the present. What starts out as a great suspenseful mystery turns into a convoluted narrative with confusing character identities and arbitrary romantic relationships from all different angles. There's an uneven balance of the romance and thriller genres, and the novel isn't quite succesful at either. Teens will find the threads about the story's glimpse at the 1980s amusing. Details about individual characters are omitted to build up the mystery, but it only serves as a detriment to characters' development. VERDICT Consider this an additional purchase.-Lacey Webster, Acadia Parish Library, Crowley, LA

    Copyright 2021 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Booklist

    September 1, 2021
    Grades 9-12 After four teens, Elayah, Marcie, Liam, and Jorja, dig up a time capsule their parents buried in high school in 1986, they discover a treasure trove of 1980s souvenirs that give a glimpse into their parents' lives. They get more than they bargained for, however, when they find a hunting knife stained with traces of blood, along with a confession. Stunned, they turn the knife over to the town sheriff, Liam's dad, in hopes of solving a long--forgotten murder case. The sheriff, along with some other parents, questions the alleged crime, and it's not until Elayah is attacked that the parents take the kids seriously. Sensing their parents are hiding secrets, the teens investigate and uncover a chilling truth. Lyga's latest will keep readers on the edge of their seats as it alternates between the voices of the past (the parents) and the present (the four teens), giving readers a glimpse into both parties as the truth unfolds. A combination of romance and mystery will grip readers in this thrilling offering from Lyga.

    COPYRIGHT(2021) Booklist, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Time Will Tell
Time Will Tell
Barry Lyga
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Time Will Tell
Time Will Tell
Barry Lyga
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Township High School District 214, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close