Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
With You All the Way
Cover of With You All the Way
With You All the Way
Borrow Borrow Borrow
Bestselling author Cynthia Hand delivers a funny, awkward, and altogether honest coming-of-age story about one girl's attempt to make the most of a summer in paradise—perfect for fans of Sarah...
Bestselling author Cynthia Hand delivers a funny, awkward, and altogether honest coming-of-age story about one girl's attempt to make the most of a summer in paradise—perfect for fans of Sarah...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • Bestselling author Cynthia Hand delivers a funny, awkward, and altogether honest coming-of-age story about one girl's attempt to make the most of a summer in paradise—perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han.

    Ada's life is a mess. She just caught her boyfriend cheating on her after a humiliating attempt at losing her virginity, and she's had it up to here with her gorgeous older sister's unsolicited advice.

    But things really hit the fan during a family vacation in Hawaii, where Ada discovers her own mother is having an affair. Apparently, everyone is falling into bed with people they shouldn't. Everyone except Ada. But when Ada decides she's going to stop trying and start doing—sex, that is—her best laid plan overlooks an inconvenient truth:

    Feelings, romantic or not, always get in the way.

About the Author-

  • Cynthia Hand is the New York Times bestselling author of several books for teens, including the Unearthly trilogy, The Afterlife of Holly Chase, The Last Time We Say Goodbye, and My Lady Jane and My Plain Jane (with fellow authors Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows). She currently resides in Boise, Idaho, with her husband, who loves typewriters as much as she does, two cats, two kids, one crazy dog, and a mountain of books. Visit her online at www.cynthiahandbooks.com.

Reviews-

  • School Library Journal

    January 1, 2021

    Gr 9 Up-Sixteen-year-old Ada is on a quest to lose her virginity. She was on the cusp with her boyfriend Leo, but then caught him cheating on her. When her family travels to Hawaii the next day to attend her mother's annual work conference, Ada-full of anger and self-pity-decides to make a (consensual) conquest of family acquaintance Nick, an awkward 16-year-old boy she's known for years, as they always meet up at this yearly event. As Ada navigates this tricky landscape, she also makes some unpleasant discoveries about her parents and older sister, Afton. Like many protagonists in coming-of-age stories, Ada is unsure about who she is and wavers between being bold and insecure. With genuine dialogue, believable inner monologues, and a good dose of cringe-worthy moments, Hand realistically portrays the confused Ada, as well as the other multi-dimensional supporting characters. Overall the narrative is smooth and the descriptions of a lush Hawaii, including some historical and cultural background information on the locale, make for an engaging read. Ada, Afton, and their mother are white; Ada's stepfather is Black; and Ada's younger half-sister is biracial. VERDICT A breezy read about a serious topic, recommended for mature readers.-Melissa Kazan, Horace Mann Sch., NY

    Copyright 2021 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Publisher's Weekly

    January 18, 2021
    Things start going wrong for “quiet, nerdy” Ada, 16, just as her family prepares to travel from Silicon Valley to Hawaii for a conference that her surgeon mother attends annually. The decision of whether to have sex comes between Ada and her popular swimmer boyfriend; Ada and her older sister fight about whether Ada’s ready for intimacy; and then her beloved stepfather, an ER nurse, decides not to accompany the family to Hawaii. In so-called paradise, she gets stuck babysitting her five-year-old sister and worrying about her parents’ marriage—and that’s before she glimpses something she shouldn’t in her mother’s room. Together, the incidents make Ada wonder why sex is such a big deal, and if and when she’ll ever have it. To answer the second question, Ada asks sensitive, smart Nick, another conference kid, if he’d like to join her in bed. Though readers will understand what Ada saw before she does, and some may be uncomfortable with how often Ada and her sister blame their successful mother for being absent, Hand (The How & the Why) effectively depicts Ada’s thought process—confusions, assumptions, hopes, and fears. Even better, the book is a thoughtful ode to consent and to taking sex, and its power to bring people closer and push them apart, seriously. Ages 13–up. Agent: Katherine Fausset, Curtis Brown.

  • Kirkus

    January 15, 2021
    Ada, a gifted teen artist, draws in order to help see the world around her. But art won't help her answer the questions she is struggling with the most: Does she love her boyfriend? Is she ready to have sex? How will she know, and who can she talk to about how she really feels? Ada feels stuck between pressure from her popular boyfriend, Leo, and warnings from her older and more experienced sister, Afton. To make matters worse, Ada senses growing tensions between her mother, a successful, and increasingly unavailable thoracic surgeon, and her stepfather, Pop, an emergency room nurse. When her mother whisks Ada and her two sisters off with her to a medical conference in Hawaii, leaving Pop behind, Ada begins to worry her family is falling apart. During the week away, Ada realizes that sex can change everything: your family, your relationships, and your sense of self. The novel centers a multiracial blended family--Ada, Afton, and their mom are White; Pop is Black; and the girls' younger sister is biracial--with an ambitious, often absent mother and a father who acts as the central caretaker. These identities are named but not explored in the story. The emotionally well-developed central characters, smooth pacing, and frank and open discussions of sex, love, and relationships make this a satisfying read for teens and adults alike. A tear-jerker about love, family, and learning to trust yourself. (Fiction. 13-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2021) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Publishers Weekly

    "A thoughtful ode to consent and to taking sex, and its power to bring people closer and push them apart, seriously." — Publishers Weekly

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
With You All the Way
With You All the Way
Cynthia Hand
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
With You All the Way
With You All the Way
Cynthia Hand
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Township High School District 214, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close