Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
The Last Beautiful Girl
Cover of The Last Beautiful Girl
The Last Beautiful Girl
Borrow Borrow Borrow
Fans of Black Mirror and There's Someone Inside Your House will devour this disturbing story about a dark descent into social media fame. Izzy is determined to use her family's new mansion, and the...
Fans of Black Mirror and There's Someone Inside Your House will devour this disturbing story about a dark descent into social media fame. Izzy is determined to use her family's new mansion, and the...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • Fans of Black Mirror and There's Someone Inside Your House will devour this disturbing story about a dark descent into social media fame. Izzy is determined to use her family's new mansion, and the treasures inside, to outshine everyone in her new town, even when it's clear that something—or someone—in the house has deadly intentions...

    When Isabella Brixton is forced to move from New York City to a tiny town, she's not thrilled. The silver lining is the gorgeous old mansion she now calls home. As the former residence of a glamorous patron of the arts and muse who died many decades ago, the house has its quirks: whole floors are boarded up, old paintings are covered, and cell reception is nonexistent.

    Isa is ready to hate her new life, but things turn around when her classmate Alexa, a skilled photographer, suggests they start an Instagram account featuring portraits of Isa inside the mansion. Wearing gowns and jewelry hidden away in the house, Isa looks perfect in the unfiltered photos—almost unnaturally so—and they quickly go viral. Soon she's got a new best friend, a potential boyfriend, and is surrounded by a group of girls who want the photoshoots and fame for themselves. But there's a darkness in the house, and a darkness growing in Isa, too. When girls start getting hurt, it's clear that something—or someone—in the house is growing in power, with deadly intentions.

Reviews-

  • School Library Journal

    September 1, 2021

    Gr 7-10-Isabella "Isa" Brixton is horrified to learn she will be moving from Brooklyn to the tiny college town of Amory, Massachusetts. Her parents were offered jobs too good to pass up and despite Isa's protests, the family relocates to a giant old home once owned by a wealthy socialite. Isabella Granger was widely known for her beauty. Testament to her popularity are the portraits of Granger covering many of the walls in the worn-down mansion. At first, Isa is too busy feeling sorry for herself to embrace her new community, especially when she realizes Eve, her best friend back in Brooklyn, has taken her coveted leading lady role. Thanks to the notoriety of the Granger mansion, Isa quickly attracts curious fans. When one of her new classmates, Alexa, suggests they take pictures at the famous mansion to post on Instagram, Isa reluctantly allows her to come over and post pictures of her. As Isa's Instagram fame grows, so does her personality and appearance. She becomes so obsessed with greedily sucking in more followers that she can't see she has become possessed by Granger. Only the main characters are fleshed out. Isa comes across as spoiled and entitled even before she is possessed. Suspense is consistent throughout, and readers will have a hard time putting the book down. The race of the characters is not clearly stated. VERDICT Hand to fans of Mary Downing Hahn, Peg Kehret, and Dan Poblocki.-Julie Shatterly, W. A. Bess Elem. Sch., Gastonia, NC

    Copyright 2021 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus

    September 1, 2021
    A teen's identity becomes entangled with social media fame when she moves to a remote mansion with a troubling history in this thriller. Sixteen-year-old Isabella is crestfallen to leave her Brooklyn home for a small town in Massachusetts when her parents take positions at a college that includes lodging in an ornate old house that was inhabited by Isabella Granger, an artist's model and muse from the early 1900s. An aspiring actor, Isabella is naturally disappointed to not only be leaving her best friend, Eve, but that Eve will assume her starring role in the school's production. However, her initial feelings of foreboding about the eerie house give way to appreciation and more after her new friend, Alexa, convinces her to allow her to photograph and post images of Isabella in the house dressed in clothing and jewelry left behind by Granger that the two girls discover in a hidden storage room. Divided into four parts and riffing heavily on The Picture of Dorian Gray, this mashup of spiritual possession and obsessive social media attention-seeking creates an air of discomfit that is lengthily sustained by creepy but obvious jump scares involving mirrors, shadowy figures, and unexplored rooms. It's familiar territory and wraps up with quite a few loose ends, though the exploration of the psychological allure of going viral is interesting. All main characters read as White. Atmospheric but predictable; one for die-hard fans of haunted-house stories. (Thriller. 13-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2021) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Booklist

    September 24, 2021
    Grades 9-12 This haunting YA thriller fuses modern facets of speculative horror--the strange and the mysterious--with contemporary digital elements to create a narrative that is sure to keep readers engaged. After being forced to leave the glamour of New York City, Isa can't imagine discovering anything worth her time in small-town life. But her family's new, creepy, gorgeous old mansion with a mind of its own seems certainly haunted, with its eerie, closed-off rooms, hidden artwork, and apparent disapproval of modern technology. When it begins offering Isa the means become an internet fashion influencer, she finds herself pulled into a vortex of its ominous powers. And when the house decides to enact a price--and girls start dying--Isa must wonder if that power is worth what it gave her. Laurin weaves a spellbinding story that blends the old and the new in this modern haunted-house tale. Fans of mystery and speculative fiction will eagerly immerse themselves in discovering the truth about the artist's muse who died in Isa's new home.

    COPYRIGHT(2021) Booklist, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Sourcebooks
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
The Last Beautiful Girl
The Last Beautiful Girl
Nina Laurin
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
The Last Beautiful Girl
The Last Beautiful Girl
Nina Laurin
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Township High School District 214, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close